Skip Links

18 March 08

  • print

Orange Broadband Prize For Fiction Announces 2008 Longlist

London, 18 March 2008: The Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction, the UK's only annual book award for fiction written by a woman, today announces the 2008 longlist. Now in its thirteenth year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in women's writing.

The longlist (Author, title, publisher, background information)

Anita Amirrezvani, The Blood of Flowers (Headline Review)

Iranian/American, 1st Novel

Stella Duffy, The Room of Lost Things (Virago)

British, 11th Novel

Jennifer Egan, The Keep (Abacus)

American, 3rd Novel

Anne Enright, The Gathering (Jonathan Cape)

Irish, 4th Novel

Linda Grant The Clothes on Their Backs (Virago)

British, 4th Novel

Tessa Hadley The Master Bedroom (Jonathan Cape)

British, 3rd Novel

Nancy Huston Fault Lines (Atlantic Books)

Canadian, 11th Novel

Gail Jones Sorry (Harvill Secker)

Australian, 4th Novel

Sadie Jones The Outcast (Chatto & Windus)

British, 1st Novel

Lauren Liebenberg The Voluptuous Delights of Peanut Butter and Jam (Virago)

South African, 1st Novel

Charlotte Mendelson When We Were Bad (Picador)

British, 3rd Novel

Deborah Moggach In The Dark (Chatto & Windus)

British, 16th Novel

Anita Nair Mistress (BlackAmber)

Indian, 3rd Novel

Heather O'Neill Lullabies for Little Criminals (Quercus)

Canadian,1st Novel

Elif Shafak The Bastard of Istanbul (Viking)

Turkish, 7th Novel

Dalia Sofer The Septembers of Shiraz (Picador)

American, 1st Novel

Scarlett Thomas The End of Mr. Y (Canongate)

British, 7th Novel

Carol Topolski Monster Love (Fig Tree)

British, 1st Novel

Rose Tremain, The Road Home (Chatto & Windus)

British, 10th Novel

Patricia Wood Lottery (William Heinemann)

American, 1st Novel

The judges for the 2008 Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction are:

Kirsty Lang (Chair), Journalist & Broadcaster

Lisa Allardice, Editor of Guardian Review

Lily Allen, Musician

Philippa Gregory, Novelist

Bel Mooney, Novelist, Journalist & Children's Author

“There were lots of big names in contention this year and stiff competition for places on the longlist,” commented Kirsty Lang, Chair of Judges, “so we were surprised and excited to find so many new voices that fought their way through.”

She continues, “There is a great balance on this list, not only in its international reach and range of human experience, but also between first novels and some established writers that haven't perhaps had the recognition they deserved.”

The Prize was set up in 1996 to celebrate and promote fiction by women throughout the world to the widest range of readers possible and is awarded for the best novel of the year written by a woman in the English language.

“The Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction remains committed to bringing women's fiction to a wider, younger and more varied range of readers,” said Hattie Magee, Head of Partnerships at Orange. “It is great to be announcing such a fantastic list that reflects the incredible range of international fiction that is available to readers today. To find our more about this years longlist visit”

This year's longlist honours both new and well-established writers, featuring seven first novels alongside a former Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction winner; Linda Grant, who took the prize in 2000 for When I Lived in Modern Times. Three authors

appearing on this year's list have previously been longlisted for the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction, and Rose Tremain was shortlisted in 2004.[1]

Any woman writing in English, whatever her nationality, country of residence, age or subject matter, is eligible. The winner will receive a cheque for £30,000 and a limited edition bronze known as a ‘Bessie', created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven. Both are anonymously endowed.

The winner will be announced at an awards ceremony to be held in The Ballroom at the Royal Festival Hall on 4 June.

Previous winners are Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie for Half of a Yellow Sun (2007), Zadie Smith for On Beauty (2006), Lionel Shriver for We Need to Talk About Kevin (2005), Andrea Levy for Small Island (2004), Valerie Martin for Property (2003), Ann Patchett for Bel Canto (2002), Kate Grenville for The Idea of Perfection (2001), Linda Grant for When I Lived in Modern Times (2000), Suzanne Berne for A Crime in the Neighbourhood (1999), Carol Shields for Larry's Party (1998), Anne Michaels for Fugitive Pieces (1997), and Helen Dunmore for A Spell of Winter (1996).

Press release: Sponsorship & EntertainmentOrange Prize For Fiction

Follow us on Twitter and subscribe to our RSS feed and get the latest news delivered to your screen.


News, trends, debate and fun from within Orange and beyond.

take me there

YouTube, Facebook & Bebo. Campaigns, promotions and competitions.

show me

configure your download

Your download will include:

File size: